PDA

View Full Version : Tempted by A3 Saloon S line?

Hippogriff
26-07-2013, 08:34 PM
I've been an A4 driver (2) for the last 8 years and I'm coming up to the time when I will change car. I've had a good look at the facelift A4 - it's not changed enough for me to go for it. I thought I would have to go up to an A6 to get a newer platform car (the technology is most important to me, not really the size of the car - things like gadgets, latest MMI features, album cover art, 7-digit postcodes and all that good stuff) and I still might go the A6 route - I'm test driving an A6 Black Edition over 2 days next weekend. The A6 is a really nice place to be, but it's obviously larger.

However, the news of the A3 Saloon (completely unheard of by me until a couple of days ago) has really thrown me.

I like the look of it. I like what I've been reading about it. I've looked at the dimensions on paper (brochure) but I won't get chance to sit in one until mid-August. I'm hoping it won't be too small for me.

I've gone through the brochure and the best thing is that you can add all sorts of options and still (no surprise, I guess) keep way below the price of an A6 - this really appeals.

Is anyone else thinking about the A3 Saloon? Does anyone have any early views?

c.grex
26-07-2013, 10:24 PM
I've looked at the A3 sport back and when I spec it up, it's not that much cheaper than a Discounted A6! And even closer to a A4.

This down to A6 discounts being so good (8k off a black) and also A6's come far better spec'd as standard, you need to add everything to A3's.

Hippogriff
26-07-2013, 10:37 PM