PDA

View Full Version : audi a4 temperture gauge

wing0706
30-05-2013, 10:23 PM
hi i have a 1998 audi a4 anvent 1.9 tdi am having probs with temp gauge and red lights in door when the red lights on door panel dont work neither do the temp gauge
didnt know if someone has had this prob sometimes they work sometimes they dont have change the temp sensor but the gauge still will not work any ideas please
thanks mark :aargh4::aargh4:

Whippy53
30-05-2013, 10:28 PM
Hi Mark, sorry, can't help I'm afraid. You might try a scan though. See what that throws up.

fat controller
31-05-2013, 11:07 PM
I have no knowledge of the car or the fault, but my head is screaming 'earth fault' simply because the puddle lights seem to be related? I'd be inclined to check the wiring loom in both doors (predominantly drivers side though), and back to the fuse box paying special attention to any body earths that there are.

I have a feeling that this might be one of those faults that needs an old fashioned approach of methodically working through, cleaning and remaking connections.

wing0706
01-06-2013, 02:35 AM
ok thanks

Szaxx
02-06-2013, 08:29 AM
For a quick check on the earth fault, connect a wire from the doors body metalwork to the car body metalwork, make sure its clean metal, no rust or paint etc.
A quick lead is a starter cable, its big but will work.

wing0706
02-06-2013, 09:39 AM
Thanks done what you said ran earth from body work to puddle lights still no joy sometimes they work sometimes not must be deeper prob in motor somewhere temp gauge i sorted the new sensor i put in was faulty so got another one and now it ok just need to sort puddle lights

Szaxx
02-06-2013, 04:32 PM
A second check on the.lights.
You'll need a volt meter or a small 12 volt bulb ideally smaller than the lights being checked.
Undo the clips screws etc to expose the bulb. I'll assume its a.standard unit for now.