PDA

View Full Version : Ineffective brakes MK3 TDI

wheela33
29-08-2007, 03:45 PM
I've been told that diesel models use vacuum pumps for braking.

Since I've had the car the brakes do not seem to have gone any better (was told that the car had new disks and pads) as they need to bed in. Whenever braking, as I ease off the brake, a squeal can be heard. The brakes do work, but not as effective as they are on other cars Ive driven.

I asked my mate that fitted a timing belt for me what it was, he said that it could be the vacuum pump.

Has anyone encountered this problem? According to the Haynes manual, if the pump is faulty, then the only option is to replace it, I fear that this will be a costly repair.

tornadored7
29-08-2007, 08:18 PM
Hi Wheela,

How long have you been driving the Golf MK3 TDI ?

I've been driving a G3 TDI for close to 10 years, and compared to many other cars, its brakes definitely leave alot to be desired.
Perhaps best described as being 'very blunt' ? In my opinion the brakes (front non vented single discs, and rear drums) are highly underrated for the Heavy engine lump at the front.

Further, new pads and drums will takes several hundred miles to bed in.

Is it that the brakes are genuinely bad on your car, or that you aren't used to the G3 TDI's intrinsically poor braking ?

TR7

wheela33
29-08-2007, 09:07 PM
Hi Wheela,

How long have you been driving the Golf MK3 TDI ?

I've been driving a G3 TDI for close to 10 years, and compared to many other cars, its brakes definitely leave alot to be desired.
Perhaps best described as being 'very blunt' ? In my opinion the brakes (front non vented single discs, and rear drums) are highly underrated for the Heavy engine lump at the front.

Further, new pads and drums will takes several hundred miles to bed in.

Is it that the brakes are genuinely bad on your car, or that you aren't used to the G3 TDI's intrinsically poor braking ?

TR7