PDA

View Full Version : Lowering suspension new Black Edition

mr mugello
14-02-2013, 09:43 AM
I would like to lower the drop just a touch. Just looking from the side of car, it looks a touch high as I purchased the car as pre built without realising at the time of an option of s line suspension. Mine being fitted with 20 mm drop sport suspension. Just seems too big a gap between tyre and car body. Would I be insane to fit lowering springs and lose my warranty for the sake of a cm ? Springs I was looking out were 35mm front and 30 mm rear. Only doing an oil plug change is my limit to mechanics so I take it would be a professorial job as being a new car for me. Any advice appreciated .

Jason Carson
14-02-2013, 01:54 PM
I'm no expert but before buying new ones its worth checking if the existing shocks are adjustable maybe?

Sam
14-02-2013, 03:08 PM
Fitting shorter/stiffer springs wont void your warranty and less any subsequent issues can be directly attributed to the fitting of the springs.

Might be worth pricing up S-Line suspension directly with the Dealership to give yourself a rough idea of the OEM cost, then comparing that to whatever 3rd party (Apex, H&R, Eibach and so on) offerings are out there.

mr mugello
14-02-2013, 06:01 PM
Spoke to my local main dealer who quite bluntly said they do not or recommend lowering of suspension. I then mentioned about S line suspension offering 30mm drop from standard and asked about retrofitting . Between five to six thousand pounds was told. Did do a quick search to find such springs as Eibach for £180 pounds. Anyone lowered suspension to 30mm from standard ? How many hours labour would it take to change just springs ?

Soot1e
14-02-2013, 08:12 PM
A quick search on google came up with roughly £400 for supply/fit of eibach springs. Lots of places inc AMD Essex, just reread their web site, just over £300!!!

Guest 2
14-02-2013, 08:29 PM
£400 for 1cm?