PDA

View Full Version : Fixed versus Variable Servicing

glospete
25-12-2012, 12:50 AM
As I understand it when my new car is delivered I have to choose either fixed period or variable servicing. As I've no experience of this can you give me the benefit of your experiences please? My annual mileage is likely to be maximum 10,000 and this will be longish journeys rather than town driving.
Any advice appreciated.

Crasher
25-12-2012, 01:35 AM
If you care about the car or intend to keep it long term, go fixed annual interval.

-M-
25-12-2012, 07:29 AM
I always stick with fixed interval servicing. Variable servicing was/is a gimmick in order to attract fleet and commercial sales and always has been.

Volkswagen here in Oz only do fixed service intervals - no longlife/variable at all, even for commercial vehicles.

Crasher
25-12-2012, 11:09 PM
Longlife servicing kills engines.

h5djr
26-12-2012, 11:17 AM