PDA

View Full Version : Red brake warning light

kblackburn
02-12-2012, 08:30 PM
Hi

I was looking for some assistance,( I'm a Toyota technician) I have a Seat exeo 2010, which as you will know is an Audi B7 in disguise, I'm having some problems with the Red brake warning symbol comming on, this as started happening since the weather has gone colder, I have spoken to my local Seat dealer, who serviced the car last week, they say they could not find any fault, and I must say I have done a scan with my VCDS and no faults are logged, however, I have found a corroded terminal in the n/s/f brake pad (http://www.shopzilla.co.uk/rd2?t=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.chainreactioncycles.com%2FS etProperty.aspx%3FShippingCountryID%3D1903%26Curre ncyISO%3DGBP%26PartnerID%3D2771%26ReturnUrl%3DMode ls.aspx%3FModelID%3D85511&mid=126294&catId=100001031&atom=100001036&prodId=&oid=4382908822&pos=1&bId=18&bidType=0&bAmt=7e669606a2eb75b8&cobrand=2&rf=af1&af_assettype_id=10&af_creative_id=6&af_id=11444) connector, so the sealing has failed, allowing moisture in, and as the wiring is part of the ABS wiring it looks expensive, however, the car is under warranty for another 10 months.
I have just been perusing the Audi forums, to find this is a common fault with the B7 chassis, where abouts is the relay fitted that has been refered to, so that I can check if Seat has done the mod, another thing I have noticed is the heater fan speed, if I have the climate control on auto, with a high fan speed and then use the windscreen washers, the fan speed increases !!!! any idea's

kev

Crasher
02-12-2012, 10:16 PM
This reminds me of a fault the 8E A4 suffered on right hand drive cars which meant we had to fit a relay into the brake fluid level warning light circuit which disconnected the sensor from the dash during the starting phase. Surely they would have fixed that by now?

kblackburn
02-12-2012, 10:28 PM
Crasher,