PDA

View Full Version : Central Lock/Door Latch + Radio Help

cjk6290
11-05-2012, 08:53 PM
Just a couple of quick questions from an Audi noob here. First of all, I noticed today that sometimes when I unlock the car, the passenger door unlocks as normal but won't open from the outside. A couple of pulls of the handle from the inside seems to do the trick. I'm a current honda tech and need to do my window reg on that side anyway so I've got no problems stripping it and having a nosey, just wondering if anyone's seen or had this problem before? Might be obvious when I have it stripped!

Second question is about the radio. I miss my iPod too much and have an iPod ready aftermarket headunit to put in the car but I have heard conflicting opinions to do with replacing the headunit. Some people say it'll go straight in with an adapter lead and others say it needs to be modified due to the way the Bose system works. Has anyone changed theirs and can shed some light on the situation? If its alot of hassle then can anyone recommend a good iPod connector which is compatible?

Any help and advice greatly appreciated!

Craig.

NHN
12-05-2012, 11:38 AM
What year 8P is it?

I suspect the bar from the exterior handle needs just adjusting to the lock, its just a simple metal bar pushed into a metal or plastic latch, given it opens with a few lifts seems to suggest that is the issue, just down a notch should fix.

Radio, well there are adapters to make work, but a nice option is the rns-e, but depends on budget & what you want out of it.

cjk6290
12-05-2012, 02:49 PM
It's a 2004. I suspected there would be some adjustment in the cable or something, definitely just feels like it need adjusted. RNS-e? Not familiar with that haha as I say I'm new to Audi, had Hondas all my life as I work for them so it was just handy. Just need something that'll play and charge my iPhone. Not really worried about the price if it's a good bit of kit.

NHN
12-05-2012, 02:57 PM