PDA

View Full Version : 2010 2.0TFSI S-Line Avant - Not nice under hard acceleration!

hopper1
23-04-2012, 09:09 PM
Hi Guys,
I'm a newbie here, making my first post, so hello all!...
I have a 2.0 TFSI A4 Avant S-Line Quattro (Dec 2010).
All was well until about 9000 miles (1 year).
Exiting a roundabout hard in 2nd gear, changing up quickly to 3rd, then back hard on the throttle and it seems like there's someone in the engine bay, slamming the bulkhead with a sledge hammer! It doesn't disappear, I have to back right off the throttle, then accelerate again (nicely!) ***!
I took an Audi Norwich technician out in it, and demonstrated it to him, then left the vehicle with them for a few days...
Audi answer... Don't change gear so quickly! I was flabbergasted at that. I've owned some right buckets in my life, thrashed them all (at times) and never had one behave like that.
I thought it could be a fuelling issue, but they (who know everything) said all was ok with the car... Basically, it's my fault, for giving it a bit, on occasion!
It now appears to be happing under load (not hard) from 3rd to 4th (not a quick change, either), more subtle thudding though...
HAs anyone else on here come across this, or know the reason.
A salesman I spoke with, new exactly what I was on about, as he'd had it happen to him, he described it as the engine hitting the bulkhead because of the high revs! (he was serious, too)... C'mon, I ask you...:confused:
I'd be greatful of any help on this. The car is now 16 months old, 13,000 miles.

Paul

EDIT: Just been reading through some posts, so I must also point out that the car runs mainly on Tesco unleaded! Is this an epic fail on my part!?

CeeTee
23-04-2012, 10:49 PM