PDA

View Full Version : 95 Golf TDI Starting Problem Please Help

Millabit
01-06-2006, 10:54 AM
Hi all,

I'm new to this and completely desperate, so any advice is appreciated. The problem has existed ever since I got the car 8 months ago, but has gotten progressively worse. The car starts without any problems, but immediately dies again. Initially, this would happen once or twice a week (I use the car daily), and it would then start without problems on the second try. Giving it a little throttle upon starting would help. This didnt' seem to be a major problem so I never bothered dealing with it (silly me).

The problem got progressively worse, to where it was taking 8-9 or more attempts to start in the morning. The problem appears to be temperature related, as it is generally easier to get the engine running in the afternoon when it's warmer (I live in Southern Spain). However, the problem has occurred even with a hot engine, after driving for half an hour or more.

We have changed the glow plugs and the temperature sensor on the cooling system. The indicator light for the glow plugs only comes on for a split second when I turn the ignition, so we thought this might be the problem. Disconnecting the temperature sensor leaves the indicator light on for longer, which is why we thought the sensor might be broken. But no luck. Diesel filter has also been changed in the last 6 weeks.