PDA

View Full Version : Retro fitting 'Factory Fit' options, is it possible?

rich05uk
28-02-2011, 12:23 AM
Hi, this is my first post here and I’m also new to VW. I’m after some advice please, I’m a company car driver and my company has just switched from Vauxhall to VW. Annoyingly, they have also stopped us having any additional options fitted to the car and have reduced our choice to only 2 models, a Golf or a Passat Estate.

I’ve decided to go for the Passat as I need an estate, it’s the SE model so it comes with a fairly good spec, but I still can’t help wanting a few extra bits and pieces as follows:-

12-way electrically adjustable front seats including memory settings for driver's seat and door mirror
Electric folding mirrors
Colour multifunction display
Tyre pressure monitoring system, electronic
Heated windscreen
Park Assist with rear view camera including parking sensors, front and rear
Gas discharge (Bi-Xenon) headlights including front fog lights, automatic range adjustment, dynamic curve lighting, dipped beam headlights
Do you know if any of these options can be retrofitted? The reason I ask is because once the lease comes to an end I intend to buy the car, but I would only buy it if I knew I could get these extra’s fitted afterwards, not too bothered about everything in the list, but I’d certainly want the Bi-Xenon headlights as a minimum?

I managed to get all the above Vauxhall equivalent options fitted to my Vauxhall after the lease ran out on that car and I purchased it. Vauxhall said it couldn’t be done, but I was very lucky and met someone on a Vauxhall Forum who works for Vauxhall and he was able to order all the genuine parts from General Motors, fit them and update the software/re-program the car as necessary to get them all working, you now can’t tell any of these options were not factory fitted from new, all work a treat. So, I’m hoping something similar can be done for the VW once I get it.

Thanks all for your help,

Richard.

The Fingers