PDA

View Full Version : Please Help Servicing Help - 2002 Audi A4 SE 2.0 (81k miles on the clock)

riscyrich
25-10-2010, 10:03 PM
2002 Audi A4 SE 2.0 (81k miles on the clock)
Guys

A little help please.... I know it's basic but I have only just purchased the above car and am keen to get it serviced before the winter sets in. I'm more than able to do oil changes etc but as I have no experience with the car I was wondering if there's anything I should watch out for.

I've determined that I need 5w30 oil for the car, will probably go with Millers XF Long Life 5w30 or Mobil 1 ESP 5W30.

Suppose questions are:

Is the oil filter easy to get to?
Do I need any special tools to get it off or will the usual ones do?
Should I use engine flush?
Is sump plug hex head, torq or allen key head?
Any particular oil filter to get? (was going to drop in at Audi and get one)
Any particular air filter to get?

Thanks in advance.

ATB
Rich

iwaters
26-10-2010, 10:37 AM
Oil must meet VW 504 00 / 507 00 spec. Check which ever one you get meets this. I use Castrol Edge 5W-30. Audi use Quantum, this can be bought from Audi or TPS.

The Sump plug is a hex head, the washer must be replaced but Audi don't supply the washer on its own so you will need to order a new plug, they are only about a £1. Get this from Audi/TPS or motor factors such as Euro Car Parts.

I've not looked at your engine before so I don't know exactly where the oil filter is but they are usually pretty easy to get to. If the car has been looked after previously you should be able to undo the oil filter with your hand, if it is tight you will need a filter wrench, any old one from Halfords will do.

I would get genuine Audi filters, they are not much more expensive than the aftermakret ones and at least you know you are getting the correct kit.

Other things to check/do: