PDA

View Full Version : B6 A4 2.4 V6 Multitronic - Shudder

will_kdy
05-10-2010, 07:39 PM
Hi all, names Will, I've been an Audi driver for 6 years, I recently bought an A4 2.4 V6 Multitronic (2002), its a great car with full leather etc I bought it after someone writing off my B6 TDI which I had for 6 years, there is 1 problem, at 1.2k rpm upto around 2k theres a vibration like a misfire but the plugs and leads have been changed, its worse when coming down the box especially coming down below 15mph, I have asked several mechanics but they don't know what it could be, has anyone ever experienced problems with this? Thanks in advance Will :1zhelp:

yaman
06-10-2010, 08:23 AM
Hi Will,

Someone needs to do a fault scan on your car to
try and narrow it down a bit.

Hope, for your sake, its engine related and not the
infamous Multi-Chronic box.

Regards
Jim

SAJ4D
07-10-2010, 11:10 PM
I hope your feeling flush because this could get costly!!! Sorry , but after experiencing the dreaded judder earlier this year I know what could be in store for you and it ain't pretty.
If you google 'multitronic nightmare' you will see what I mean.

The general consensus seems to be that this could be remedied with a 7 plate clutch upgrade, but it all depends on how far advanced your multichronic disease is.
Inde-tech in milton keynes is a garage that pops up time and again in discussions and I have yet to hear a bad word against them, but oh sh*t your in fife!!

For now, as above I would get faults scanned to see if its something else, I do hope for your sake this is a cheap and easy fix.

will_kdy
24-10-2010, 07:26 PM
Hi all, Firstly thanks for the replies. After a fault scan which turned up nothing I decided to sell the car through my local auction house as dont have the money or patience for messing around. Lost a bit of money but I believe it was a mechanic that bought the car so I wish him all the best.