PDA

View Full Version : 1.9 TDI engine maintenance

pianist4Him
26-09-2010, 10:11 PM
hello everyone,

I'm a really new member of VW community, hence first thing I'd like to greet you all and say nice to be part of such lovely community.
I recentely bought a VW Passat registered in Sept. 04 the 1.9 TDI, 130 HorsePower engine with tiptronic transmission - unfortunately only 5 speeds layers at that time.

First, I'd like to inform that I'm a really newbie in diesel engines and much more in VW. I'm looking for from first steps guidance in best practices on how to maintain in the best conditions a car like mine and more an 1.9 TDI engine. Any information would be helpful, no matter how natural or simple it may look to you guys, it's definitely going to be helpful to me and much appreciated.

Things like: how often the cambelt has to be changed - (mine for instance has it changed at 44,000 miles already), when would be the best to change this one again - at 88,000 miles?
What shampoos are you using to wash the car - what's best practices for this model and brand car? Are you guys using any shampoos on the market which has was added as well? Do you prepare the cars for winter - taking it to a VW dealer to have it waxed it underneath?
What about the longlife oil changing frequency? For instance, according to the car manual, they recommend to use only VW 506 01 standard Oil, or equivalent. I'm looking for this type of oil for more than 3 months, I couldn't find it. I was able to find the 505 - but this for no longlife oil engines.