PDA

View Full Version : iPod Touch not compatible?

christine smith
22-07-2010, 11:36 AM
Help - I'm a newbie and searched the site for other user issues but can't see anything exactly like my issue.

Golf GTD, 59 plate 2.0lt with RCD310, MF steering & MDI.

The RCD310 doesn't recognise my iPod touch (latest operating system) when plugged in via MDI cable. Tried connecting, reconnecting, rebooting and nothing works. When pressing the media button it says not compatible.

I have another issue with the radio that it keeps (intermittently) switching itself off for no reason, engine on or off.

Could the two issues be linked or can anyone help with the iPod issue?

P.S. My Sony Ericsson X10i Android phone doesn't work with the bluetooth either - so I'm not a very happy bunny!:zx11:

Please say I'm not the only person experiencing this!!!

p3asa
22-07-2010, 11:45 AM
Did you upgrade the Touch to V4 by any chance?
When I upgraded mine the headunit RNS510 didn't see it at first and it took a few attempts of unplugging / plugging back in before it recognised it.

Are you using the ipod cable as opposed to the USB cable? You should have received 2 different cables. The ipod will only work with the specific ipod cable.

I'm sure I read on here or it may have been http://uk-mkivs.net/forums/32206.aspx about someone else having the problem of their RCD310 turning off.

It should be the bottom cable you are using
http://i918.photobucket.com/albums/ad28/p3asa1/IMG_3530.jpg

christine smith
22-07-2010, 11:58 AM
Thanks - the olther site looks useful for my radio issue - sounds like I may have a faulty one.

The IPod Touch was brand new and never got it working in the car yet! I'll dig out all the cables tonight and prize the iPod out of the clutches of my teenager to test it...so much for buying myself a present!

I'll keep trying. Many thanks

percymon
22-07-2010, 01:52 PM