PDA

View Full Version : Unsure about performance of A6 Avant

Mosschopz
08-06-2007, 04:52 PM
Hi there im new to audi and previously had an old 1992 Golf GTI Mk2 1.8...our new family car is an audi a6 avant 1999 2.5tdi ..i love it to bits so far it feels so safe and sure... but im unsure if it has some power loss or if it is just normal. On the flat it happily gets up to speed but the gearing is very different and new to me...4th seems to max out at about 65-70 where the revs just flatten off is this normal?...then 5th will pull me up to 95> on the flat but not alot further..i appreciate these are high speeds but i expected a bit more....the car seems to pull fine at low speeds especially 2nd in which u can really feel the turbo...

basically accelerating past 80 is very slow and the top i have been able to get is 100 so far...also the mpg is 33.6 average..which is not alot less than my old golf!! but my daily journey to work is short and windy

any ideas or am i just too used to a little snappy gti and i need to get with the new family estate!

PS I need a manual for the car any ideas where i get one (cant believe it didnt have one!)

Shawn

buster
08-06-2007, 07:36 PM
Hi there im new to audi and previously had an old 1992 Golf GTI Mk2 1.8...our new family car is an audi a6 avant 1999 2.5tdi ..i love it to bits so far it feels so safe and sure... but im unsure if it has some power loss or if it is just normal. On the flat it happily gets up to speed but the gearing is very different and new to me...4th seems to max out at about 65-70 where the revs just flatten off is this normal?...then 5th will pull me up to 95> on the flat but not alot further..i appreciate these are high speeds but i expected a bit more....the car seems to pull fine at low speeds especially 2nd in which u can really feel the turbo...