PDA

View Full Version : How To Haggle?

vwawudi
19-06-2010, 11:49 PM
Guys, newbie here!

Lurking and reading till now.

Decided to take the plunge and get an A4.
Seen one I like and now need haggling tips. Been given a tame part-ex price for my current car and together with deposit comes to about £3k. Cost to change is about £17K (asked dealer to remove optional extras like GAP, paint protection, wheel insurance). Was thinking of going down the loan route but considering the PCP deal a bit. Told the dealer I was going for PCP and got figures for that.

So far, been offered about £200 extra in part-ex, road tax to be thrown in and a full tank of gas.

What's my next move? I would love to have a cost to change of about £15K but how can I tackle getting close to my ideal figure? Put an outright offer to the dealer of £19K for the car? Should this be before or after discussing repayment figures?

All help gratefully received!

ScottyUK
20-06-2010, 07:56 AM
You need to aim for 10% of list. Quite a few of us have had 11 or 12%.

Negotiate on the price of the new car by getting quotes on online brokers. Print it off and show them that you can buy it a lot cheaper. Don't forget some of these brokers will do part-ex so don't let the salesguy tell you they don't. Get the best car price you can and then talk about the part-ex.

They'll try and wrap it up in one nice easy number i.e. the cost to change. That is of course the important number but it can take you're eye off what you're getting for your car and also what you're paying for the new one. Basically do some homework and go it properly informed. Then you'll know what you're aiming at. If they're taking the mickey then don't be afraid to walk. You don't have to buy from them. If you buy from a broker or another dealer, you can of course use you're preferred one for the warranty and servicing.